HomeGauge Payments provides a convenient platform for managing credit card transactions. In certain situations, you may need to cancel or void a transaction that has been approved. Here's a step-by-step guide on how to perform these actions within the HomeGauge Payments Dashboard.
To cancel or void a credit card transaction in HomeGauge Payments:
What is the difference between canceled and voided?
- Canceled - While payment is still within the Approved status, you can reverse it by Canceling the transaction. Canceling a payment removes the Approved transaction from their daily batch, and thus, it isn't sent to the processing bank, and the money isn't withdrawn from the cardholder nor transferred to your HomeGauge Payments account.
- Voided - The second option for reversing an Approved payment is to Void the transaction. Voiding a transaction reverses the existing authorization, and thus, it is a permanent action. Once Voided, a payment cannot be re-added to your batch at any point.