Restore HomeGauge Software (After Crash or to New Computer)

Restoring HomeGauge Software is a great way to recover from a crash, or to just move to a new computer.

Restoring HomeGauge requires a previous backup - read about backing up here. Backup and Restore features are only available to users with HomeGauge Services.

Restoring HomeGauge Using the Cloud

  1. Download and activate HomeGauge software - click here for instructions
  2. Sign in by clicking HG Services > Enter Inspector HG Username. Enter username and password, then click OK
  3. Click HG Services > Restore HG User Settings. This will begin the process of transferring your settings down from the cloud
  4. You may now start creating reports. To restore reports you've uploaded to the dashboard, click here for instructions.

Manually Restoring HomeGauge Software

This portion of the article is considered intermediate-level, not beginner level.

Restoring manually may be necessary if there was no (or no recent) backup, or if the user does not have HomeGauge Services.

  • If you have access to your old computer, follow the instructions below. If you no longer have access to your old computer, go to the next set of instructions.
    1. Open your File Explorer and navigate to Documents.
    2. Right click the HomeGauge folder and choose Copy.
    3. Plug in and open your external storage device (we like to use a USB thumb drive).
    4. Navigate to the device on your computer, right click and choose Paste (or press Ctrl-V).
    5. Safely remove your external storage device from your old computer.
    6. Paste the HomeGauge folder in your new computer in the Documents folder.
    7. Download and activate HomeGauge software - click here for instructions
  • If you no longer have access to your old computer, follow the instructions below.
    1. Download and activate HomeGauge software - click here for instructions
    2. Add your company logo - click here for instructions
    3. Add your agreement - click here for instructions

Restore or Move Only Part of HomeGauge Data (Contacts, Invoice, Reports)

  • If you only need to restore part of your HomeGauge data, such as your contacts, invoice, or reports, follow the instructions below.
    • Restore your contacts 
      1. From the HomeGauge Dashboard (Note: Microsoft Excel is required)
        1. Log into your Dashboard
        2. On the left, click Contacts > Real Estate Pros
        3. Scroll to the bottom of the page to find Export Customers for HG Version 4/5. Choose All Years and click Submit.
        4. Repeat steps 2 and 3, but for Contacts > Buyers/Sellers
        5. Open both downloaded files in Microsoft Excel
        6. Combine both files into one. Easiest way: copy the rows of data (but not the headers) from one file into the other.
        7. Save the complete .csv file in the Documents > HomeGauge folder. Be sure to name it people4.csv. If you are asked if you want to replace the existing people4.csv file with the new one, say yes.
      2. From an old computer
        1. Copy the people.csv or people4.csv file from Documents > HomeGauge. A USB drive is handy for this.
        2. Paste this file in the same location on the new computer.
    • Restore your invoice (only possible from old computer)
      1. Copy the invoice.csv file from Documents > HomeGauge. A USB drive is handy for this.
      2. Paste this file in the same location on the new computer.
    • Restore your reports
        1. Open your File Explorer and navigate to Documents\HomeGauge.
        2. Right click the Reports folder and choose copy.
        3. Plug in and open your external storage device (we like to use a USB thumb drive).
        4. Navigate to the device on your computer, right click and choose Paste (or press Ctrl-V).
        5. Safely remove your external storage device from your old computer.
        6. Paste these folders in your new computer at Documents > HomeGauge > Reports.
        7. Restart the HomeGauge software. The reports will be available for you to open. Note: If you are using HomeGauge 4, you will need to click Open > Rebuild Database to make your reports visible.
      • If you do not upload your reports to the Dashboard, and your old computer is no longer working or salvageable, your reports may not be recoverable.
  • 98
  • 12-Oct-2017
  • 136 Views